The Station District started to take shape during the second half of the 19th century, when wine transport switched from traditional horse-drawn carriages to railway cars.
Coupled to this was the appearance of many French winemakers who came to La Rioja to buy wines in the aftermath of poor harvests due to pests —powdery mildew in 1863 and phylloxera in 1867— and set up their export premises in the vicinity of the provisional railway station.
There are no French winery-warehouses left in the area. Of those remaining today, the first was R. López de Heredia y Landeta (1877). The Compañía Vinícola del Norte de España (CVNE) was created in 1879. Duque de Moctezuma and J. Gómez Cruzado were built in 1890. La Rioja Alta S.A. appeared in 1890 and Bodegas Bilbaínas was founded in 1901.
It is during that 30 year period (1877-1904) that the Station District took on the shape that we know today. At the time there were also factories making brandies, soaps and fertilizers as well as some vineyards among the winemakers’ warehouses.
In 1970, Muga (founded in 1932) moved its headquarters from the upper town of Haro to the Station District, joining the list of wineries in this unique location. A decade later, Roda built their facilities there, becoming part of the neighbourhood as well.